UCL Department of Geography


Description Photo Here

Personal tools
Log in
This is SunRain Plone Theme
UCL Home  /  Geography  /  News & Events  /  News  /  News Archive  /  2017  /  October 2017  /  Akin Mabogunje awarded this year’s Vautrin-Lud Prize

Akin Mabogunje awarded this year’s Vautrin-Lud Prize

The ‘Nobel Prize’ in Geography

Akin Mabogunje awarded this year’s Vautrin-Lud Prize

Professor Akin Mabogunje (University of Ibadan) who obtained his BA(Hons) and Masters degrees at UCL, followed by a University of London PhD, between 1956 and 1961, has been awarded this year’s ‘Nobel Prize for Geography’, the Prix Vautrin-Lud, at the annual International Festival of Geography at Saint-Dié in north-eastern France.

After postgraduate research on rural SW Nigeria and the urban geography of Lagos, Akin taught at the University of Ibadan, and has since been visiting professor at universities throughout the world, publishing widely on aspects of urban geography and development studies. He has also been a consultant to many Nigerian and international development organizations, including the United Nations and the World Bank.

Akin was first African president of the International Geographical Union (1980-84), and also the first to be elected as a Foreign Associate of the United States National Academy of Sciences (1999). Earlier this year he was elected a Foreign Honorary Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. He is also an Honorary Fellow of UCL.

The Prix Vautrin-Lud ceremony may be viewed at;




See also:


Akin Mabogunje accepting the Prix Vautrin-Lud